Puss In Boots

18 Nov

Last week, I went to watch Puss in Boots with my mother. I take every opportunity I can to support the Latino community, and this movie was no exception. It featured the voices of Salma Hayek and Antonio Banderas, who in my opinion have been truly instrumental in making Latinos more prominent in Hollywood.

In addition, the movie centered around a cat, and as a future crazy cat lady, I had to endorse it. I only expected something light and fun, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was very funny, but it didn’t fall back on stereotypes about Latinos in order to make it humorous. Many films fall back on outdated tropes, but this one did not.

In my opinion, it is this that has made the movie so successful. It features Latino characters, but it does not stereotype them. Hollywood should take notice, and create true Latino characters without relying on the “hot Latina” or the “cholo Latino”. In order to make a film about true Latinos, Hollywood needs to learn to create intricate, many-layered characters.

Leave a Reply

